Legislative Update 4/17 [updated]

Update:  The House has appointed Chambers (R-O’Brien), Dolecheck (R-Ringgold), Forristall (R-Pottawattamie), Mascher (D-Johnson), and Steckman (D-Cerro Gordo) to the conference committee.  The Senate has appointed Quirmbach (D-Story), Schoenjahn (D-Fayette), Bowman (D-Jackson), Hamerlinck (R-Scott), and Boettger (R-Shelby) to the conference committee.

The House passed SF 2284, as amended by H-8458, today by a vote of 54 to 45.  H-8458 struck the entirety of the Senate language and replaced it with a forty-page bill drafted by the House Committee on Education.

Perhaps more later in the week, but for now see the Des Moines Register, reporting that charter school law changes and teacher lay off provision changes have been dropped from the bill.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s