Common Assessments

One of the purported benefits of adopting common standards and assessments is being able to compare the performance of Iowa students to students in other states.

Science assessment presents an interesting problem, in that states have flexibility in choosing which grade levels to assess. Iowa currently assesses science at grades 5, 8, and 11. In 2016-17, state law requires science to be assessed in grades 3 through 11.

Here’s the best list I can come up with of states that are members of SBAC, have adopted NGSS, and give science assessments at grades 5, 8, and 11:

  • Iowa
  • Oregon

If we’re a bit more flexible, we can add:

  • California (science assessed at grades 5, 8, and 10)
  • Delaware (science assessed at grades 5, 8, and 10)
  • Nevada (science assessed at grades 5, 8, and 10)
  • Vermont (science assessed at grades 4, 8, and 11)
  • Washington (science assessed at grades 5, 8, and HS)
  • West Virginia (science assessed at grades 4, 6, and 10)

But at this point, there doesn’t seem to be one NGSS-aligned assessment for all of these states to adopt as a common science assessment to facilitate comparing results.